I need a brunch

I love a good meal to start the day off, especially after a weekend sleep in. The weather is good and the food, better – just make sure you have enough friends to enjoy the breaksfast feast menu at Kazbah On Darling. Lucky for me, I have friends  (12 to be exact =)) and we are able to sample the menu that kicks off with banana porridge, sweet couscous and warm rice pudding. Not all together, but the Masterchef in me decides to make a stirfry combo and I think, we have a new recipe for Donna Hay’s cookbook.

The boys are still hungry and think “oh sh!t, is this all we’re getting?!” but I advise them there’s more to come…

They’re not disappointed as plate after plate of traditional breakfast dishes start filling the table. My favourite is the lamb mince tagine which is flavoured with cumin and chilli spices. For the vegetarians there is also a roast pumpkin and spinach tagine which is just as good. A platter of eggs also arrive, cooked in a combination of scrambled and poached, topped on turkish toast.

The meats then arrive and we all squeal in excitement (ok… I think it was just me making the noise) and we make an attack on the bacon, haloumi, hash browns and sausages. I’m stuffed by this stage, but manage to try a bit of everything just to satisfy the fatty in me.

 

For those who still have room for dessert, there’s also pancakes. And we’re talking serious pan-sized pancakes. (I think they should’ve called them cakes instead). These were too thick for my liking and I would be surprised if anyone could finish it without having a cardiac arrest after. Still, it’s nice to end off with something sweet for the palate.

Kazbah On Darling is a great place for a weekend gathering and if there are plenty of you, definitely opt for the breakfast menu – you won’t be disappointed!

WHERE IS IT? 379 Darling Street, Balmain (02 9555 7067)

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Cindy says:

    that’s one freakin huge breakfast feast! But looks oh so yummy!
    That pancake definately looks too massive to send a big meal. But it does look good though….

    Take me there next time i am back in Syd 🙂

  2. Anita-eat says:

    Tehehee… funny you say that. Remember you had a choice between Deus and another Cafe last time you were here? This was it! Next time =)

Leave a comment